Weekly Update: January 11, 2018

Giant NAHB Governance Change Passes With 71.6% Affirmative Vote!

In a plan to streamline governance under development for over two years, your NAHB Board of Directors today passed a proposal to modify the structure of the organization.  If everyone showed up, there would currently be around 2,900 members.  With the passed plan, the composition of the BOD will be phased in over the next two years and be as follows:

  • Six-member senior officer team including CEO
  • 15 National Area Chairmen
  • 51 State Representatives
  • Two National Associate Chairs
  • Special State Voting Members
  • Past NAHB Chairs and Presidents that are ex-officio members

The current BOD then will be charged to:

  • Elect the Senior Officers and Directors
  • Amend the NAHB Bylaws
  • Adopt Resolutions, Recommendations, and Policy
  • Propose Committees, Ad Hoc Workgroups and Task Forces
  • Survey the Profession
  • Share Information and Insights on NAHB Priorities
  • Engage in Leadership Development

Mike Farr Receives NAHB Associates Committee Chairman’s Award

Mike Farr, Cascade Manufacturing, won the NAHB Associate’s Committee Chairman’s Award last night at IBS.  Mike is heavily involved at the local, state, and national level of our Federation.  Congratulations!

Tim Ruth Wins Outstanding Industry Advisory Board Member Award

Tim Ruth, McCreedy-Ruth Construction, was honored last night at the NAHB Student Chapters Award Ceremony as Outstanding Industry Advisory Board Member.  Kirkwood Community College had a team of students compete in the competition.  They tried hard, but were not in the mix.  Big 10 universities dominated the four-year program portion of the competition.

Brandon Patterson Finalist for Young Professional of the Year

Brandon Patterson, RE/MAX was a finalist for the NAHB Young Professional of the year and unfortunately did not win the honor – but he’s still a winner for Iowa.  There’s some stiff competition out there – here’s a list of the finalists.

Chuck Fowke Elected NAHB Third Vice Chair this Morning

Chuck Fowke from Valrico, Florida was elected as NAHB’s Third Vice Chair this morning at the BOD meeting.  He beat out Lincoln, Nebraska’s Fred Hoppe.  Here is information on Mr. Fowke.

Iowa STEM Council Executive Director to Serve National STEM Assignment

Jeff Weld, executive director of the Iowa Governor’s STEM Advisory Council, has accepted a one-year role with the National Science Foundation and the University of Northern Iowa. In this position, Weld will serve as senior policy advisor and assistant director for STEM Education at the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy and staff associate in the Directorate for Education and Human Resources at the National Science Foundation. Weld’s assignment is effective immediately and extends through Dec. 10, 2018.

2018 IBS Highlights

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>